Brain P. Cleary also writes books to help kids with grammar.  I just finished reading Under, Over, By the Clover: What is a Preposition?, which is part of the Words are Categorical series.  The illustrations are fun, there’s not too much text on each page, the text rhymes, and the prepositions are in bold.  I do take issue with the fact that they deliberately end a couple of sentences in prepositions, but that’s just the stickler in me.  It’s a great book, and explains that prepositions tell about time, place, direction, and more.  And of course, there are ample examples of prepositions!

I’m looking forward to checking out Brian Cleary’s other grammar picture books, including A Mink, A Fink, a Skating Rink: What Is a Noun?, To Root, to Toot, to Parachute: What is a Verb?, and Hairy, Scary, Ordinary: What is an Adjective?  Paulie, be prepared to learn some grammar!  (Although I promise to wait until grade school for these particular books!)

