In less than a week I’ll be in the third trimester!  Oh my goodness!  This month has really flown by!  The third trimester has really snuck up on me!

I don’t think I’ll be having a baby shower, which makes me more than a little sad.  My family of origin is not in my life at all, and I was kind of hoping that my friends would rally around me to support Paulie.  I have wonderful friends, it’s just that my closest friends live out of town.  I have a lot of friends in town who would come to a baby shower, but none that are close enough that they’d be the one to throw the shower for me.  So I’m kind of bummed about that.  I was really looking forward to having a chance to celebrate Paulie.

My mother-in-law has been *awesome,* which I’m so grateful for, especially since I don’t have a mom in my life.  She and my sister-in-law took me shopping for maternity clothes, and we’ve spent so much time cooing over baby clothes in the outlets 🙂  It was actually my mother-in-law who did all of the mother-of-the-bride stuff for me when I got married– made flower arrangements, even took me shopping for my dress.  She’s been a really awesome support for me throughout my pregnancy with Paulie.  I can always talk to her when I’m worried, she always makes me feel better.  She and my sister-in-law took me to Ikea where my mother-in-law bought Paulie his crib!  She’s also made a couple of homemade blankets for him, and even bought him a little shirt that says “Small Paul” (too cute!).  She’s making little stuffed animals and a quilt for him as well, I believe.  I am so, so grateful that she’s so wonderful to me, and she’s not even my mom.  Who knew that the best husband in the world would come along with the best mother-in-law ever 🙂  I often hear disparaging comments about people’s mothers-in-law, but I’ve got the best mother-in-law ever!

I freaked out the other night when I realized that I’m almost in the third trimester.  I thought, “oh my gosh, I’m not ready for him!  The crib’s not put togther!  We don’t have all of his diapers yet!  He hardly has any clothes!”  But hopefully we have another three months before he comes.  I talked to Sweetie and we’ll order Paulie’s carseat in early April.  That way we should get it by the end of April, and then I’ll get it installed at the fire station right away.  I did a mental inventory and Paulie does have enough clothes (Sweetie’s bought him all sorts of adorable little t-shirts and onesies– too cute).  And we have most of the Fuzzi Bunz that we need.  The rest are just an Amazon order away.  I figure that it doesn’t really matter that the crib’s not put together (judging by the box it looks like it’s probably in 50 pieces– *gulp!*) because Paulie will be sleeping with us anyway.  I’ll put him in the crib when he takes naps by himself, but I have a feeling that, for at least his first month of life, I’ll be taking naps with him!  So he and I can just cuddle in the big bed and breastfeed and sleep 🙂

I do wish that I had a mom of my own to share my pregnancy with, and that I could celebrate my pregnancy with a baby shower.  But at the end of the day, I’m incredibly, incredibly fortunate.  I have the most wonderful Sweetie ever and a precious little baby on the way.  Sweetie’s family is very supportive, and I have lots of great friends.  So while I’m sad about the things that aren’t there, I don’t want that to stop me from being grateful for the copious riches of love and joy that surround me 🙂

