I love a good spinach salad with artichoke hearts and homemade croutons.  But since I’ve been pregnant, morning sickness has severely limited what I can eat.  I can often only eat the foods that I crave, which unfortunately aren’t usually very healthy.  Here’s how I adapted my Pigs-in-a-Blanket recipe when I was craving them (okay, the many times that I’ve craved them!):

Healthier Pigs-in-a-Blanket

You’ll need: reduced fat crescent roll dough (I like Pillsbury), hotdogs free of nitrites and nitrates, 2% milk American cheese slices (optional), and ketchup

Preheat the oven for the crescent rolls according to the instructions on the package.  Cut the hot dogs in half and spear them a few times with a fork.  Unroll one piece of cresent roll dough at a time, place half a slice of cheese on it, and then put 1/2 a hot dog on it.  Roll up the crescent roll around the cheese and hotdog, and then place it on a cookie sheet.  Repeat with all of the cresenct rolls.  Bake them according to the instructions on the package.  Serve with ketchup.

For some reason being pregnant has made me crave the foods I loved as a kid.  I’m certainly not going to call this a healthy food– but it’s a healthier version of an unhealthy food!  Enjoy!

