Yesterday I went to my first La Leche League meeting.  It was absolutely wonderful.  It made me feel so good about my choice to breastfeed Paulie as well as my choice to stay home with him.  When I arrived at the meeting a bunch of women were gathered on a group of comfy couches.  The toddlers played together on the floor in the center of the couches while the babies snuggled in with their mamas.  It was so peaceful, and so full of joy.  I’m so glad I went. 

I’m absolutely committed to breastfeeding Paulie, and so I’m glad that I’ll have the other women in the La Leche League to support me and to help me with trouble shooting.  More importantly, it’s such a gift to get to meet other stay-at-home-moms.  Since I went to the daytime meeting (they have an evening meeting as well) almost everyone there was a stay-at-home-mom.  And the atmosphere was just so relaxing and peaceful.  Noone had to hurry their children to get here or there.  Most of us weren’t on any sort of tight schedule.  What a gift that these mothers are able to take it slow, move on their children’s schedule, and treasure their time with their little ones, rather than frantically rushing them here and there.

The toddlers played together amazingly well (if enthusiastically!) 🙂 while the moms  shared their breastfeeding experiences.  I already knew one of the moms in the group (we used to teach together), and I recognized another mom whom I’d met at a breastfeeding workshop.  It really helped to have familar faces there, and so I felt comfortable sharing right away.  The La Leche meetings have a four week cycle, and we were in the first week of that cycle.  During the first week they talk about the benefits of breastfeeding.  After people shared their reasons for breastfeeding– and some of the unexpected perks they’d found– the leader opened up the floor to any questions.  It really helped me to listen and learn from the other women.  Seeing their peace and their confidence with their babies made me feel more confident about caring for my own.  And I know I’ll have a wonderful support network there to help 🙂

