We’re going to be using cloth diapers for Paulie.  We want to save money, and I’m concerned about the sodium polyacrylate in disposable diapers.  Sodium polyacrylate is the chemical in disposable diapers’ super-absorbent gel (you know, those crystals that come out of the diaper and get on your baby).  Even so-called “natural” brands of disposable diapers, such as those made by Seventh Generation, still contain sodium polyacrylate (although they are chlorine-free).  The only disposable diapers that don’t contain super-absorbent gel are those made by Tushies.  I plan to use those for Paulie during trips to Grandma’s house.  You can buy Tushies diapers by the case on Amazon and get free shipping.

Thankfully, cloth diapers have come a long way from the pins and plastic pants that I wore as a kid.  Cloth diapers are more convenient and more functional than ever.  There are all sorts of different cloth diapers available– prefolds, all-in-ones, fitteds, oh my!  After doing a lot of research I decided to use Fuzzi Bunz Perfect Size cloth diapers for Paulie.  Fuzzi Bunz are pocket diapers, which means that they have a pocket into which you put inserts that absorb the wetness.  You use one to three inserts at a time– for example, you might put three inserts in there at night time.  Each Fuzzi Bunz diaper comes with one microfleece insert, but I’ve read that the microfleece can start to smell, and so I’ve registered for BabyKicks Joey-Bunz hemp inserts to use instead.  These inserts are made to fit Fuzzi Bunz diapers, although they’ll work in any pocket diaper.  Hemp in naturally anti-microbial, so that’s a bonus.

Fuzzi Bunz diapers have a waterproof layer on the outside and a layer of soft fleece on the inside.  There’s elastic in the legs, so that the diaper will fit your baby well.  They seem like they’ll be easy to use.  You put the inserts in, and then use the snaps on the diaper to close the diaper on the baby (no pins!).  There are a lot of different snaps on the diaper, so that you can customize the fit.  When it’s time to wash the diaper, you remove the inserts and throw everything in the wash.  Pocket diapers dry more quickly than all-in-ones diapers because the inserts are seperate.

Fuzzi Bunz sells one-size diapers and “perfect size” diapers.  The perfect size diapers are available in XS, S, M, L, and XL, but most babies only need the small and the medium diapers before they’re potty trained.  The one-size diapers claim to fit your baby from birth through potty training, but I’ve heard that they’re bulky and that they don’t fit well, and so I decided to go with the Fuzzi Bunz.  I think that prefolds with covers would be easy to wash, but you have to buy the covers in a bunch of different sizes as your baby grows, and the point here is to save money!  Also, the prefolds just don’t seem thick enough for older babies.  And I don’t want to use anything sharp around the baby– if I used prefolds I’d have to use either pins or Snappis.  The waterproof cover is supposed to protect your baby from the Snappis, but I still say, nothing sharp around my baby!

I hope this information helps you as you research cloth diapers!

